Do You Ever Wonder Why Your Ancestors Had No Children? (Charles TROUTMAN, I guess.)- 52 Ancestors

Wait for it…1…2…3….

Right. Not possible. We all know it seems like many of them had no parents, but no children?

This post is going to fit snugly into the “No Story Too Small” category, as it is 6:15pm EST, and I want to make the 8pm deadline. But it will be a great lead-in to subsequent articles, so I’m not worried.

James Joseph TRAUTMAN, Earl Lawrence TRAUTMAN, and Charles TROUTMAN. My father, his father, and his grandfather, in that order. Each had a child or children, and each left the scene, or seems to have.

This article will be focused on Charles TROUTMAN, the father of my grandfather Earl Lawrence.

Charles, the father of Earl Lawrence TRAUTMAN was born circa 1872-1874, and according to my grandfather’s birth record, was born in Germany.(1) He was deceased by the time my grandfather died in 1964.(2) He and my paternal grandmother, Carrie D. VIRKLER, descendant of Reverend Rudolph VIRKLER from France who settled in Lewis County, New York, married on 3 February 1893.(3) My grandfather, Earl Lawrence TRAUTMAN, was born 2 and 1/2 months later on 15 April 1893. Both the marriage and the birth took place in Cleveland, Cuyahoga County, Ohio, and I can’t find either one of them in the 1900 US Census. However, by 1901, Carrie is back in the records I’ve found. She married James PHILP in Manhattan, New York, on 19 June of that year.(4) James PHILP was born in New York, but his parents were from Scotland. From the 1910 census record, it appears that along with my great-grandmother Carrie, James raised my grandfather.(5)

Charles Troutman and Carrie Virkler Marriage, 1893. Cuyahoga County Archive; Cleveland, Ohio; Cuyahoga County, Ohio, Marriage Records, 1810-1973; Volume: Vol 38-39; Page: 143; Year Range: 1892 Feb - 1893 Jul.

Charles Troutman and Carrie Virkler Marriage, 1893. Cuyahoga County Archive; Cleveland, Ohio; Cuyahoga County, Ohio, Marriage Records, 1810-1973; Volume: Vol 38-39; Page: 143; Year Range: 1892 Feb – 1893 Jul.

"Ohio, County Births, 1841-2003," index and images, FamilySearch ( https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/X6KL-QLP : accessed 02 Feb 2014), Charles Trotman Or Troutman in entry for Trotman Or Troutman, 1893.

“Ohio, County Births, 1841-2003,” index and images, FamilySearch ( https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/X6KL-QLP : accessed 02 Feb 2014), Charles Trotman Or Troutman in entry for Trotman Or Troutman, 1893.

I have found several Charles TROUTMAN/TRAUTMANs in various locations, including one in Cleveland who is the right age. This one was named Charles William TROUTMAN, was born in Pennsylvania in 1874, and died in Cleveland in 1939. I have been able to find enough information to be pretty clear on his life. The timeline of his life is such that he could have had a marriage and child in 1893, although in 1897 he married a Rebecca THOMPSON. I had hoped to be able to match up signatures, if nothing else, on the marriage record with my Carrie and the one with Rebecca, but they just don’t. On the record of marriage with Rebecca, he states that he has not been married before. I had a thought that if the marriage to and child with Carrie D. VIRKLER were to be kept secret, he would say that anyway. But the signatures….they don’t match.

Then there was a Charles TROUTMAN who was in Ramsey County, Minnesota, in the 1905 Minnesota Census, age 32 (so born about 1873), and born in Germany. That Charles had a wife, Eda, and three children Clara age 10, Alvaine age 5, and Otto age 2. His occupation was given as a painter, his wife was also born in Germany, and all three of his children were stated as having the birthplace of St. Paul. On the census, it says he and his wife have lived in Minnesota for 15 years (it does not say whether they were married or unmarried when they moved there), and that they have lived in Ramsey County for 4 months.

There is also a Charles TRAUTMAN who was born in Germany in 1871, arrived in New York in 1887, married a woman named Catherine “Katie” in 1898 and appeared to live in Queens, New York, most of his life. He had at least six children. This is a situation where the 1890 census would help. I have mentally ruled him out, but keep him for a reference for later if need be.

There was a Charles William TRAUTMAN, born 1877 in Trenton, New Jersey, and appeared to live there at least until the early 1940s. He was running for Common Council in the 5th Ward of that city in 1907. He was a blacksmith, and I suspect he was not my great-grandfather.

There was a Charles William TROUTMAN, born in Pennsylvania in 1875, who married an Emily LAWRENCE in 1898 in Dauphin County of that state. I have found five children in the censuses.

And a Eugene Charles TROUTMAN born 1872 in Ohio, and died 1931 in Delaware County, Ohio. He married Lillie Ann BROWN in about 1894. It doesn’t appear they had any children who lived.

I’m not finished looking for Charles TROUTMANs (various middle initials, middle names, and and spellings).

But as you can see, it seems that my guy is gone – for now. I don’t have a death record yet. I haven’t looked for divorce records. I have been able to keep track of Carrie, and even Earl (my grandfather), but where did Charles go? As of yet, I have no idea what happened to my dad’s grandfather. He seems to have disappeared. He didn’t die or remarry or divorce or have any parents. Funny.

My brother has agreed to take a Y-DNA test with Family Tree DNA. With any luck, it will hook us up with a TRAUTMAN/TROUTMAN line. But will we ever know the real story?

Who are you, Charles? How did you meet Carrie? Why did it take you so long to marry (that rhymed), and why were you both in Cleveland?

What’s really weird is that even though in 1910, my grandfather Earl Lawrence TRAUTMAN was living in Manhattan at the age of 17, and my grandmother Adele Marie ANTON was living in Elizabeth, New Jersey, that same year, in 1913, they got married in Cleveland! Why?! Did they all make a road trip to get married where his parents lived? There is more mystery around this than perhaps any other of my ancestors – because it is so close, and yet so far away.

I have more digging to do. That is what I like about this writing. It reveals to me just how little I really know and what I need to do next.

Earl L. Trautman and Adele Anton Marriage Record, Cuyahoga County, Ohio, 1913

Earl L. Trautman and Adele Anton Marriage Record, Cuyahoga County, Ohio, 1913

Until next time. Whew! It’s only 7:37pm. I made it!

REFERENCES

1) “Ohio, County Births, 1841-2003,” index and images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/X6KL-QLG : accessed 02 Feb 2014), Trotman Or Troutman, 1893.

2) Email from Robert Hazecamp, Volunteer for Passaic County (New Jersey) Historical Society, Transcript of Obituary for Earl L. Troutman. Paterson Morning Call, Wednesday, January 8, 1964.

3) “Ohio, County Marriages, 1789-1994,” index and images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/X8XC-TM6 : accessed 05 Feb 2014), Charles Troutman and Carrie Virkler, 03 Feb 1893; citing Cuyahoga, Ohio, United States, reference P 143; FHL microfilm 877928.

4) “New York, Marriages, 1686-1980,” index, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/F67T-9ZG : accessed 05 Feb 2014), James Philp and Carrie D. Virkler, 19 Jun 1901.

5) Year: 1910; Census Place: Manhattan Ward 12, New York, New York; Roll: T624_1022; Page: 3B; Enumeration District: 0559; FHL microfilm: 1375035. James Phillip household, Lines 55-57.

This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors Series, Dad's Side and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do You Ever Wonder Why Your Ancestors Had No Children? (Charles TROUTMAN, I guess.)- 52 Ancestors

  1. Pingback: Charles TROUTMAN. I Must Be Careful What I Ask For. – 52 Ancestors | Diggin' Up Graves

  2. Pingback: Was Charles TROUTMAN a TROUTMAN at all? – 52 Ancestors | Diggin' Up Graves

  3. Pingback: Charles TROUTMAN, Take 3 – 52 Ancestors | Diggin' Up Graves

  4. Pingback: Ancestors for Week 7 – 52 Ancestors (2015 #7) | Diggin' Up Graves

Leave a Reply

