Barbara (RADABAUGH) COON, 1805-1882 – 52 Ancestors (Ancestor 61)

EDIT 23 July 2016: When I published this article, my website CoonWEB located at RootsWeb was still in existence. I have since removed it and am in the process of transitioning the contents to a Coon Family specific blog at http://coongenealogy.wordpress.com.

I have known very little about my 3rd great grandmother Barbara (RADABAUGH) COON‘s life prior to her migration to Indiana. I knew that a Coonrod COON obtained a bond to marry a Barbara ROADABAUGH on 6 May 1822 in Harrison County, Virginia (now West Virginia). Through other research, I determined that these were my 3rd great grandparents. See this blog post from March.

Coonrod Coon Bond to marry Barbara Roadabaugh, Courtesy of http://www.wvculture.org/vrr/va_view.aspx?Id=22289&Type=Marriage

Coonrod Coon Bond to marry Barbara Roadabaugh, Courtesy of http://www.wvculture.org/vrr/va_view.aspx?Id=22289&Type=Marriage

I still don’t have [much of] a lead on who Coonrod’s parents are, but as of today, I may have a good lead on Barbara’s parents.

A year ago, I had my DNA tested via Family Tree DNA’s Family Finder. To broaden my horizons, and with no expectations whatsoever, I recently tested with 23andMe. I was not going for any particular surname matches. I find 23andMe’s interface and website atrocious, but I thought I may be able to pick out a few useful things.

I found a fairly close DNA match with a woman who turns out to be a RADABAUGH descendant and who has led me to non-verified evidence of Barbara’s parents and ancestors! I have to tell you that this is very exciting, because it is becoming increasingly obvious that DNA coupled with traditional genealogical research work together nicely.

What I know about my Barbara comes a little from family records; her Henry County, Indiana, death record; her obituary; and, her son Mark COON‘s death record.

 DATE OF RETURN: 31 October 1882 NAME: Barbra [sic] Coon SEX: Female COLOR: White AGE: 77 years OCCUPATION: Wife DEATH DATE: 2 Sept MARITAL STATUS: Widow NATIONALITY: Amr DURATION OF LAST ILLNESS: 14 weeks 4 days PLACE OF DEATH: Greensboro CAUSE OF DEATH: Pulmonary Consumption COMPLICATION AND DURATION: Insane for 4 years FATHER: x MOTHER: x DATE OF REPORT: 27 Sept MEDICAL ATTENDANT: Robt. A. Smith, Greensboro PERSON WHO MADE REPORT: Dr. Smith, HO

Henry County Deaths
Book CSS-1, p. 13, no. 163
Henry County Health Department
New Castle, Indiana
(abstracted by me from my research, http://homepages.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~coonweb/barbdth.htm)

 BABARA [sic] COON Was born in Harrison county, West Virginia, about the year 1805. Died at her son's on Duck Creek, September 7, 1882 [Henry county death record gives death date as the 2nd]. Aged, about 77 years. Some thirty years ago she joined the Baptist church; held her connection with the same and lived in the faith till death. Her husband, Coonrod S. Coon, preceded her to the tomb some twenty-one years ago. Since that time she has lived a widow. Her remains were taken to the Harlin [sic] church, on Sugar Creek, in Hancock county, where religions [sic] services were conducted by Seth Stafford, and she was laid to rest in the graveyard near by [sic]. Two days later the infant son of James Coon died and was taken to the same place. S. S.

The New Castle Courier
New Castle, Indiana
29 September 1882
p. 2, col. 4

Transcript of the Obituary of Barbara (Radabaugh) Coon

The New Castle Courier
New Castle, Indiana
29 September 1882
p. 2, col. 4

BABARA [sic] COON

Was born in Harrison county, West Virginia, about the year 1805. Died at her son’s on Duck Creek, September 7, 1882 [Henry county death record gives death date as the 2nd]. Aged, about 77 years. Some thirty years ago she joined the Baptist church; held her connection with the same and lived in the faith till death. Her husband, Coonrod S. Coon, preceded her to the tomb some twenty-one years ago. Since that time she has lived a widow. Her remains were taken to the Harlin [sic] church, on Sugar Creek, in Hancock county, where religions [sic] services were conducted by Seth Stafford, and she was laid to rest in the graveyard near by [sic].

Two days later the infant son of James Coon died and was taken to the same place.    S. S.

 NAME: Mark Coon DATE: 1899 Oct 28 CAUSE: Acute nephritis DURATION: Uknown [sic] PHYSICIAN: Ralph Wilson AGE: 67 SEX: Male RACE: White RESIDENCE: Wilkinson MARITAL STATUS: Widower OCCUPATION: Laborer BORN: Virginia PLACE OF DEATH: Brown Tp. FATHER: K. Coon FATHER BIRTHPLACE: Unknown MOTHER: Barbara Ridinbow MOTHER BIRTHPLACE: Unknown BURIAL: 1899 Oct 30 WHERE: Harlen Cem. UNDERTAKER: Axtell & Condo

Hancock County Deaths
Book RH-7, p. 1
Hancock County Health Department
Greenfield, Indiana
(abstracted by me from my research)

My first year of “this whole DNA thing,” as newbies like to call it, has been frustrating and fascinating. My head spins and I am overwhelmed. I have become even more disorganized with my genealogy, and it is getting to the point that I will implode if I don’t do something soon. So, just like at one time in my life, I got at least a part of my paper records organized (15 years ago), it’s time to get my DNA connections organized as well. And, for the first time in my life, I have what I’ve always wanted – a genealogy room! I even have a cousin who wants to help me set it up.

But I digress.

My first year of the study of genetic genealogy has led me to some really great connections. This one for the RADABAUGHs is divine. It has been a dead end, one that I had lost hope on without some serious West Virginia on-site research. I had put it on the back burner for another time. If I live another 30 years, maybe I could get to it, I told myself.

But then I “met” C last week. C is my apparent RADABAUGH cousin on 23andMe. C has paper research on the RADABAUGHs. And C has found a Barbara in her records who could be MY Barbara!

With C’s family tree, I was able to check on Family Tree DNA’s Family Finder to see how many of my 2nd cousin 1x removed’s (P’s) matches had these newly-discovered surnames. I was able to see that I have matches with them, as well (although obviously not as many as P does).

The magic of the beginnings of a DNA find like this is that even though I don’t know for sure that Barbara “fits” as the daughter of the suggested couple, I do see that as her descendants, we have DNA cousins with surnames that could mean that she is.

So on with the communication with C about the RADABAUGHs, and fingers crossed that someday, we’ll both be able to say that we are cousins not only by DNA, but also on paper.

This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors Series, Mom's Side, Obituaries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Barbara (RADABAUGH) COON, 1805-1882 – 52 Ancestors (Ancestor 61)

  1. Pingback: Twenty-Five Genealogical Things That I Know Today Which I Did Not Know on 01 January 2014 | Diggin' Up Graves

  2. Pingback: Ancestors for Week 7 – 52 Ancestors (2015 #7) | Diggin' Up Graves

Leave a Reply

