Strangeman JOHNSON had to PARTAY, PARTAY! – 52 Ancestors (Ancestor 126)

Do you remember back in January when I wrote about Strangeman (pronounced STRONG-muhn)? Do you remember that he had been disowned from the Society of Friends (Quakers) in 1796, but the Hinshaw abstracts did not give a reason?

Well, I found out the reason.

Earlier this year, the actual scanned records became available on Ancestry, and here is what I found in the records of the Deep Creek Monthly Meeting, Yadkin County, North Carolina.

At the meeting on the 3rd day of the 9th month 1796, it was reported that Strangeman wasn’t going to give what the Friends wanted:

One of the friends appointed to visit Strangeman Johnson reports he had an opportunity with him to Satisfaction but he not appearing inclinable to make Satisfaction. Samuel Welch and John Standfield are appointed to visit him again and if he refuse to make Satisfaction to prepare a paper of Denial against him & produce to next Meeting.

Strangeman was either very hard-headed and proud, or he had other reasons for not wanting to be a Friend anymore. First day of the 10th month 1796:

The friend appointed to draw a testification against Strangeman Johnson produced one which was approved of and Signed. Samuel Welch is appointed to give him a copy of it if he Desire one and if he Decline an appeal to read it at the close of a first day Meeting at Hunting Creek and return the paper with his care to next Meeting.

Continued on the _th of the 11th month 1796:

The friend appointed to read the paper of Denial against Strangeman Johnson, not being present the matter is continued another Month.

And finally on the 3rd day of the 12th month 1796:

The friend appointed to read the paper of Denial against Strangeman Johnson reports its complied with and has returnd the paper.

And what is it that my ancestor Strangeman Johnson actually did?

A heinous crime to be sure. Earlier, on the 6th day of the 8th month 1796:

The preparative meeting [Hunting Creek, in Yadkin County, North Carolina] complains of Strangeman Johnson for takeing too much strong Drink and takeing off his clothes in a publick and defensive Manner also for attending a Marriage consumated out of the unity of friends where one of the parties had a right of membership. Jacob Dobbins and John Bond are appointed to take an opportunity with him and Endeavour to lay before him the Evil of Such conduct & report their care to next meeting.

This, my friends, might be the funniest thing I’ve ever read about an ancestor.

Just exactly what IS taking off clothes in a “defensive manner”? Was this a bar fight? I can wrap my brain around the “taking too much drink,” but the defensive disrobing just has me baffled.

Nonetheless, the whole thing is hilarious, and not a bit boring. I think I would have liked to have attended that wedding!

SOURCE

Deep Creek Monthly Meeting (Yadkin, North Carolina) Men’s Minutes, 1793-1853. Ancestry.com. U.S., Quaker Meeting Records, 1681-1935 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2014.

This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors Series, Mom's Side and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Strangeman JOHNSON had to PARTAY, PARTAY! – 52 Ancestors (Ancestor 126)

  1. Pingback: Twenty-Five Genealogical Things That I Know Today Which I Did Not Know on 01 January 2014 | Diggin' Up Graves

  2. Pingback: Diggin’ Up Graves – Favorite Posts of 2014 and 2015 | Diggin' Up Graves

  3. Cat Houchins says:

    Oh, I see you found the Deep Creek Meeting Monthly Minutes about our Strangeman Johnson. I couldn’t believe what I was reading! So, this is my great ancestor to whom I share a last name?? I wonder if they mean offensive rather than defensive?

    Like

    • I wondered that, as well. He was young when this happened, and don’t we all have things that we regret from our youth? I would also like to know whose wedding it was. What do you know, if anything, about his wife Mary Whitaker? Was she your David’s mother? I’m descended from Rachel, their first born. She was born in 1799, but David, their second to last, not until 1821.

      Like

      • Cat Houchins says:

        Hi Elizabeth,
        I do believe that Mary Whitaker is David Johnson’s mother. I didn’t have many of David’s siblings until I found this site. Excited to find more children of Strangeman and Mary! Though I do have much information from my David Johnson down to my father. Lots of family photos, etc.
        I’m working on your Rachel right now. So interesting that so many of the children married the Anderson Johnson children. That makes for a confusing search with maiden name and married name the same.
        Brothers Hardy Johnson and David Johnson lived near one another in Howard Co., Indiana
        Working away on adding the many Johnson family members into my tree!
        Cat

        Like

      • I would love to see what David looked like, and any daughters he had, what they looked like. There is a distinctive Johnson look that I wonder if they would carry. I’ve noticed over the years that descendants of David and Hardy do genealogical research. I wonder why that is?

        Like

      • Cat Houchins says:

        Could you email me so I have your email address? I will send you an invite to my Johnson Family Tree which includes photos of my relatives.
        Thanks!
        Cat Johnson-Houchins

        Like

Leave a Reply

