Maude Olive (BUSSELL) KUHN – *Protecting a One Week Old Baby* During a Cyclone

I goofed.

My cousin is graciously willing to take some of the blame, but it was I who most likely got the story mixed up. I should have verified. I should have questioned the discrepancy. I should have confirmed the birth date. I should have waited.

Two weeks ago, I published that Maude Olive (BUSSELL) KUHN gave birth to Julia Louise KUHN during the horrible cyclone on 25 June 1902. I thought I must have put the wrong date in my files. But, I did not. Baby Louise was born one week before that – on 18 June.

I asked my cousin a few days ago if she was sure that the 18th was her mother’s birthday. Really. I did ask her that. She loves me oh so much to not have smacked me upside the head.

She said yes, the 18th was her mother’s birthday, even after I told her that the 25th was the date of the cyclone.

So, I trudged to the health department last Friday and, sure enough, baby Louise was born on 18 June 1902. But I just couldn’t wait to get that story out, so I had published it as it was the week before. And now I have to correct it.

Birth record book, 1902-1904, Hancock County, Indiana, Health Department, viewed 20 March 2014.

Birth record book, 1902-1904, Hancock County, Indiana, Health Department, viewed 20 March 2014.

The family story is that mother Maude and one week old baby were on a mattress under the dining room table while father Ord was outside in a ditch during the cyclone.

I must say, though, that having my little one week old baby at my breast while a cyclone is tearing up everything around me would possibly be at least as scary as giving birth during it.

So consider this a lesson (to me). Slow down, get your facts straight, and don’t question your cousin’s mother’s birth date again. She may not be quite so patient the next time. 🙂

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Mom's Side and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maude Olive (BUSSELL) KUHN – *Protecting a One Week Old Baby* During a Cyclone

  1. Pingback: Maude Olive (BUSSELL) KUHN – Gave Birth During a Cyclone – 52 Ancestors (2015 #10) | Diggin' Up Graves

Leave a Reply

