DNA Adoptee Contacts and My Heartache

Boy Sitting In Park In Fall by Petr Kratochvil Public Domain

It’s Fall. I love Fall. For the past few years, I have not loved Fall. It was not a time of beauty – it was a time of dying. But, at least this year, it has been one of those gorgeous Falls that I remember from my younger years, pre-death of my mother, pre-aloneness.

Last year, I took a break from social media during late Fall and pretty much all of Winter. Initially, it was for a reboot of the seasons. I was newly divorced and starting over. After my mother’s death in 2005, I divorced and immediately got involved in another relationship, marrying almost 5 years later, and divorcing again 4 years to the day after that.

I gave myself no time to learn to live alone.

I gave myself no time to breathe.

I didn’t want to.

I wasn’t ready

This year, I began the social media break earlier. It is very refreshing, and I highly recommend it. It doesn’t include all blogs – just a reduction. As a matter of fact, once I got off of social media last Fall, I found time to write more, and I had more time to myself.

To breathe.

To think.

To become.

When my mother died, I was no longer a daughter. Nobody would call me, “Daughter, Dear Daughter,” again. I sobbed. I felt like an orphan.

That parental unconditional love left her body on that day in June 2005, when I held her cold hand while she was sleeping and told her it was okay to go – that I was okay, that I would be okay. I didn’t believe it, but she needed to hear it.  She left within one minute.

During these ten years, two things have happened: first, I have found that the cliché that she is always with me is true; second, I have learned how that parental unconditional love can come from me for me.

I still want my mom – when I feel scared, alone, empty, unloved, not cared for. But she won’t be back, and trying to find her within myself hasn’t worked for me. I’ve had to learn that I need to identify how I feel, and either care for myself or share what I’m going through with my new support system. This works.

I will do whatever is in my power to help an adoptee, and in the grand scheme of things, that seems to be very little. Over time, what I have found that is the most helpful from me is support, and links to DNA adoption sites and references.

I have so many “feels” when I’m contacted by, or I contact, an adoptee. I may have felt like an “orphan” when my mother died, but adoptees have grown up without that parental connection, and it makes my heart ache. Sometimes I cry. I don’t know why, or if it’s right or wrong or stupid or insulting to have these feelings. I’m told that feelings are not to be judged – they are just what they are.

Sometimes, I send photos if the cMs are close enough and the ICW and Matrix show a match, meaning that we are obviously related. I’ve learned to acknowledge how special this search is, because it would be for me. Sometimes I welcome the adoptee to the family, even though I have no idea in what way he or she is related. I always give links to dnaadoption.com and some of DNA-Explained links, such as this one.

And these days, I try always to remember to say that I will be available as someone who can be contacted again by the adoptee either for family tree information, or just plain emotional support. Because I believe that the more you share, the more you receive. And the better I feel when I am helping others.

Bless you, Adoptees. May you have success in your search, and if you don’t find family, at least may you find answers.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

