The New Ancestry – A Little Review

The New Ancestry – A Little Review

Give yourself 30 minutes to play around in it.

I hate, hate, hate to admit it.

I like it.

Let’s take a quick look at my maternal grandfather, Roy U. Wilson. This is the header on his Profile page.

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 1.38.09 AM

It’s pretty.

I love the colors.

I know that, technically, I’m not supposed to be impressed by colors and fonts, but, well, I am.

Moving right along, here is a neat little feature: Show Family Events.

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 1.37.03 AM

Do you remember having to enter in things like “Father Died,” “Mother Died,” etc., to get a perspective on what was going on in your ancestor’s life at the time? Well, this just cut that step right out.

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 1.37.25 AM

The white events are specific to my maternal grandfather, Roy U. Wilson, whose record we are on. The tan events are the “Family Events.”

I love it.

Don’t tell anybody, please.

I don’t know what Ancestry calls this next feature, but you can click on either an event or a source, and you can see what is linked to it. Here, I have clicked on my grandfather’s death and have pointers to the three sources on this record that are linked to it. (Note: This is a skeleton tree for demonstration purposes only.)

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 1.30.33 AM

But what kicked it out of the ball park for me?

What made me love it to my heart’s content, even without knowing whether all features work?

What converted me?

 

THE PURPLE.

4-hearts-lilac-color

 

 

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The New Ancestry – A Little Review

  1. j. shields says:

    It may be fine when the Ancestry works but how would you feel if Ancestry turns the info you took time to research and put online info into pure garbage and changes names in pictures and puts living people online?

    Like

    • Well, that would suck. I do have a hate/hate relationship with them. I’m surprised I like the interface. Today is my first try with it. I hope it doesn’t mess up my sync to FTM!

      Like

      • J. Shields says:

        I’m not on the new version until next week when everyone is transferred over. My sister sent me her link to see what it looked like and I was shocked to see how my info was changed. It’s not the format or appearance that upsets me as I’ve survived many of Ancestry’s updates. It is the changes made by the new version to the specific details I have with individuals in my tree. I’m not the only one who has seen this happen so wonder why would Ancestry would proceed with a version that obviously doesn’t work. A friend of mine whose family has been in Australia for almost 200 years just found out according to Ancestry that her mother is buried in France!! Judi

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Refreshing to hear something positive about the new Ancestry. I have a love/hate relationship with them. Love the databases with images (give me the proof!) but hate the abundance of errors in family trees. I paid for 10 years of our relationship but we’ve been separated for the last 2 1/2. I’m considering giving our relationship a second chance since Ancestry has some things I really want to see (Wills & Probates and Virginia vital records).

    Like

    • I can’t afford my subscription anymore, but I keep paying for it anyway for the available imaged sources and on-line indices. And the ability to fully citrate my sources even though the formatting is wrong. I have an old acquaintance who recently told me that he finally bought Family Tree Maker. I told him I had sold out and done the same thing.

      There is no way I would be as far in my accurate research had I not decided to subscribe almost three years ago. And those online wills and probate records? I didn’t see that positive thing coming.

      I’m a “late adopter.” The old new ancestry was only pushed on me when I found out that troubles I was having were fixed in the old new version (aka, the soon to be old version).

      I’ll stay now, because later this month “the New Ancestry will be the only Ancestry.” Well okay then, if you want to play dirty Ancestry, I’ll just go ahead and like you — for now. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • And there is nothing like the ability to “citrate” your sources.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am one of the few, who loves the new ancestry, too. I was actually begging for it to come to Germany 😉 But I agree with Cathy, the quality is awful sometimes. Not just in other trees, which I tend to ignore due to those errors but also the indices are horrible sometimes. I think I report every second document I look at. e.g. the transcribers always mix up December and October.

    Like

Leave a Reply

