“Ancestry to Retire Family Tree Maker”

Well, I suppose I should have seen it coming. On December 31, 2015, Ancestry is going to retire Family Tree Maker software, meaning that it will no longer make upgrades or release new versions.1

It’s not that I particularly like Family Tree Maker. I’m not attached to it. My primary use for it is to periodically synch my Ancestry tree to my desktop so that I can back it up, manipulate data, easily combine databases while maintaing the sources, and create nice charts using third-party software.

276px-ProhibitionSign2.svgThis, though, is just one more reminder of Ancestry’s dominance in the market. And it stinks.

My favorite software of all time is The Master Genealogist, which was discontinued in 2014. I still have my copy, though, and can use it. I just haven’t in a while. But I love that thing.

Ancestry has said that it will continue to support Family Tree Maker at least through January 2017. That’s acceptable. From a business perspective, I can see where the company is coming from.

But I still don’t like it. I just don’t like it at all.


Citations

1.^ Kendall Hulet, “Ancestry to Retire Family Tree Maker Software,” Ancestry Blog (http://blogs.ancestry.com/ : accessed 8 December 2015).

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Ancestry to Retire Family Tree Maker”

  1. Tom B. says:

    Have you singlehandedly destroyed a Family Tree icon? For shame, For shame….NOT!!

    Like

  2. Morag says:

    What is their suggested alternative?

    Like

Leave a Reply

